Crazy Monkey Creates

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Handspun Goodness July 19, 2007

Filed under: 2007,spinning — crazymonkeycreates @ 7:08 pm

May I present … Colorado Sunrise.

Dyed Roving - Colorado Sunrise
Colorado Sunrise - Detail
4 skeins of merino goodness

Weighing in at a total of 8 oz, and 360 yards, the yarn is beautiful and squishy and … BALANCED. Not too terribly surprising, but my handspun is getting prettier and prettier. I did ‘wet-finish’ my skeins, by letting them have a nice bath in some no-rinse wool wash, and drip-dry, but there were no weights applied, no stretching mechanisms to make the wool sit up straight and be balanced. Why am I bragging about my yarn being balanced, when I’m definitely not? Because balanced yarns don’t bias. Balanced yarns’ stitches don’t lean. They’re pretty and give great stockinette. 😉

Edited to add: All 4 skeins have been sold… woo hoo!

 

One Response to “Handspun Goodness”

  1. I’m always awed by people who can spin! I tried once and ended up with something that looked like … I have no words to describe it! Pretty bad. I’m going to come check again for more pictures!


Leave a Reply

