Crazy Monkey Creates

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Now! With Pictures! August 2, 2007

Filed under: 2007,spinning — crazymonkeycreates @ 1:55 am

So, my husband bought me a collet chuck. I said to him “How many men would buy their woman a collet chuck?” He replied, “Probably not many.” I said “Yeah, that’s because most women don’t want one. But I’ve got one now, and it’s awesome.” and thanked him.

Collet Chuck

Why would I want one of these? So I can make these:

turned spindle shaft

So, some yarn pr0n… Let’s start with “It’s My Party (and I’ll Cry if I want To)”, which started out as 8 oz of white merino roving that got dyed and spun into a nice worsted weight yarn:

4 skeins handspun yarn

And we’ll move on to “California Dreamin'” (another 8 oz of white merino that got dyed and spun into another worsted weight 2-ply):
California Dreamin'

Let’s finish with the lovely fingering-weight superwash that I’m calling “Goodbye, Blue Monday”. 128 yds and 130 yds respectively, these 2 skeins were lovely to spin.

Goodbye Blue Monday

I wish I had dyed more of this colorway and less of the one that’s sitting on my bobbins waiting to be plied. They’re called “12 years old”, and it’s 2 pinks and a purple. 4 skeins, each approximately 2 ounces, just waiting… waiting to be plied.

Finally, let me leave you with this happy leaping mountain goat, as a teaser for what’s to come from my trip to Mt. Evans:

 

Leave a Reply

