Crazy Monkey Creates

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I think I’m finally rested enough… November 1, 2007

Filed under: 2007,knit group,knitting,My Etsy Site — crazymonkeycreates @ 7:18 pm

to blog.

On Saturday, there were 10 girls from knit group in my house, dyeing yarn. It was DYE DAY! I don’t think I’ve ever been so exhausted in recent history. MJ has some details on her blog, as I didn’t have the wits about me to bring the camera out. Let’s just say lots of yarn was dyed, and the new dye studio (pics forthcoming — I took some today, but forgot the flash and… sigh…) worked out rather well. There were generally 2, sometimes 3 women dyeing at a time. No one ran out of plastic wrap, and everyone left with some really cool looking yarn.

It was a fun time, and left me tired, but happy. I hope we can do this again, sometime after the holidays, of course. I’ll remember to take the day off before dye day to minimize the sleep deprivation next time. (I work nights, dye day started at 10am.)

I swore I wasn’t going to dye until Tuesday, but I dyed on Monday, and posted some cute new things to Etsy. (More below the jump,  but skip if you don’t like color, or  happen to be  on a yarn diet.)

Starting with roving, I have winter and autumn-inspired colors

… and these two, one which was inspired by woodcuts, where the only color came from the author’s stamp in red, and the other which is inspired by a field of wildflowers.

I also dyed a couple of 50-g skeins of fingering weight yarn…

and the cotton/rayon yarns

Ben walked me through photographing them with the ‘overhead mount’ in the photo room. Because of the lighting, and through the awesomeness of my camera, very little had to be done to the photos (which is always a good thing). The plain-jane cotton yarn still needs to be photographed, as do the 8oz braids of superwash, and the 100g skeins of sock yarn I dyed yesterday.

And… the Great Stocking Project of ’07. I know my family doesn’t read my blog, so I’m safe telling you that I’m knitting Christmas Stockings for everyone who’s coming this year. (All 6 of them.) I’m knitting 3 at a time, magic loop, toe-up, like big socks made out of Cascade 220, in non-traditional colors. I’m so looking forward to the holidays. 🙂

 

3 Responses to “I think I’m finally rested enough…”

  1. Etha Says:

    You need a different job shift!! That’s terrible, your circadian rhythm is going to be all out of whack 😦
    Love your white/blue roving, very pretty!

  2. MJ Says:

    I am so glad that you have fun too!
    and that now you are rested!

  3. Laurie Says:

    Maybe next time you can have a Pajama/Dying Party so you can get sleep first!

    Great colors. Looks like it was a lot of fun.


Leave a Reply

