Crazy Monkey Creates

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Could someone explain how it got to be May?! May 5, 2008

Filed under: 2008 — crazymonkeycreates @ 8:46 pm
Tags:

I entirely can’t believe it’s May already. April zoomed by, and I have a feeling May’s not going to be a slow month, either. I’ve been dyeing this week (82 skeins and 5 lbs of fiber yesterday, a smaller batch of only(!) 24 skeins today) and getting ready for the Pagosa Springs Fiber Festival at the end of this month.

So, as filler, or rather, as something that people might find interesting, I’m going to start telling the story behind some of the yarn names (and fiber names). Sometimes, I start with a name or an idea, and sometimes I have to choose a name for something I’ve done afterwards. If you’ve bought the yarn or fiber I’ve talked about, you can relate that to fibery people when they ask. 😀

Let me start with some that I’ve sold:

Autumny

Autumny is its name. My friend MJ came up with the word when trying to describe something she was knitting. I dyed the BFL roving and spun this yarn, and it had no name until I had to give it one, and the reds and browns and golds just subjected Autumn to me, and the name was just silly enough for me to smile every time I saw it.

The second color story is this one:

Norwegian Blue

We’ve currently got 2 50g skeins of MonkeyToes available in this colorway, “Norwegian Blue”. It’s named because I was dyeing a colorway called “Macaw” and I wanted a kind of blue colorway to go with it. It’s named for the Dead Parrot sketch. The parrot in the sketch is the “Norwegian Blue” with “beautiful plumage”. It makes me giggle.

The last one is a little sillier (yes, sillier than naming yarn after a Monty Python sketch):

Tropical Something

This one is called “Tropical Something”. It was named such because I was thinking about tropical colors when I started dyeing, but had no specific name for it. When it came time to list the yarn, the discussion went like this.

Him: What do you want to name this one?

Me: I don’t know.

Him: It needs a name! I can’t list it without one!

Me: I don’t know, call it Tropical… um… Tropical… something.

Him: Okay.

And so it was named “Tropical Something.” Because I couldn’t figure out what I wanted to name it.

 

One Response to “Could someone explain how it got to be May?!”

  1. MJ Says:

    Autumny makes me smile too 😛


Leave a Reply

