Crazy Monkey Creates

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Toe-up Stockinette Socks November 5, 2008

Filed under: 2008,knitting,sock — crazymonkeycreates @ 12:44 pm

I know I’ve been gone a while, but I figured I’d just post as if nothing were going on. So, I’ve been working with toe-up socks for a while now, and the ‘wedge toe’ that looks like a short row toe has been working, but has also been slightly too pointy looking when it’s off, so I’ve reverse-engineered a German Round Toe for Toe-up socks.

It looks like this from the top:
Toe-Up Round Toe

And this from the side.
Toe-up Round Toe Side View

A vast improvement on the normal wedge toe, especially when started from 12 sts.

Here’s the toe in all its glory:

Stitch counts (in parens) are for 1/2 of the stitches, as I’m a 2-at-once Magic Looper. These counts work for both 2 circs or ML. For 4 DPN’s, you will have to figure your count over 2 needles. The ‘Inc on each end of the needle’ goes like this (for me): K1, KFB, knit to 2 stitches to the end of the needle, KFB, K1. This is a decent increase that doesn’t leave holes, because you’re not placing 2 together. If you have a favorite increase technique, feel free to use it. I only list my way because it works for me.

Row 1: Using Judy’s Magic Cast-on (or your favorite Provisional Cast-On), Cast on 12 stitches.
Rows 2-5: Inc on each end of the needle (14, 16, 18, 20 sts)
Row 6: Knit plain.
Row 7: Inc on each end of the needle (22 sts)
Row 8: Knit plain.
Row 9: Inc on each end of the needle (24 sts)
Row 10: Knit plain.
Row 11: Inc on each end (26)
Row 12-13: Knit plain.
Row 14: Inc on each end (28)
Row 15-16: Knit plain.
Row 17: Inc on each end (30)
Row 18-20: Knit plain.
Row 21: Inc on each end (32)
Row 22-25: Knit plain.
Row 26: Inc on each end (34)
Row 27-30: Knit plain.
Row 31: Inc on each end (36)

This leaves you with 72 stitches on your needles total, and ready to make your foot.

To figure it for any other number of cast-on stitches to any other number of stitches, simply figure out how many increases you’re going to need, and divide that into 4 sections. Your first section will be increase every row, your second section will be increase every other row, your third section increases every third row, and your fourth section increases every fourth row. If you have only 1-2 increases per section, you may want to group your increases into three sections, and leave out the ‘increase every fourth row’ part.Β  The key to this toe is the different rates of increasing, which make the toe more round.

On these socks, I’m using a short-row heel without wraps. This heel had a K2TOG across the ‘gap’ between the stitches, then a M1 right after.

Stockinette Sock

I’m working from a sock blank that I dyed in September, right before Dye Day at my house. As you can see, I’ve got a ways to go on this 100g of yarn. They may end up knee socks before I’m done!

Sock blank for the Stockinette Socks

 

6 Responses to “Toe-up Stockinette Socks”

  1. Leisel Says:

    Your toe looks very similar to my toe:

  2. Quazuku Says:

    Those look very cozy!

  3. Laurie Says:

    It’s more like you had a delayed summer vacation.

    I like the more rounded toe. Clever.

  4. Cynthia Says:

    Thank you so much for the help. I’ve been wanting to do toe ups, but I like the round toe and didn’t know how to accomplish it. It seems that all the toe-up patterns have that square little “end pouch” and angle up at 45 degrees, and my feet and toes are just not shaped that way at all! Can’t wait to try it πŸ˜‰

  5. Lourie Russell Says:

    I’ve been knitting socks for a while and always hate how the toe isn’t as round as it “should” be. Thanks so much for this solution!

  6. Cara Says:

    How did I not know about sock blanks before now?!! I’ve seen them and seen them and it never registered on me how they were used and how fantastic it was. It just never registered on me that you could do the dyeing that way instead of trying to hank skeins and dye each hank and wrap them separately and then try to boil without cross contaminating. You have been so helpful! This is in addition to your AWESOME toe design; I never want to make another top-down or wedge toe again. You rock! πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

